The 2019 Inspire Award for FSU Women of Distinction

By: Laura Glenn

On March 28, three soaring walls of glass at the Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts set the stage for the 2019 Inspire Awards, providing an excellent view of downtown Orlando. FSU Alumni Association Board Chair Max Oligario welcomed guests to the evening’s festivities. FSU Alumni Association President and CEO Julie Cheney presented Naomie Baptiste, of Lockheed Martin Corporation; Anne Hamilton, of The Walt Disney Company; Jennifer Hanson, of GolfNow; and Heather Pinder Rodriguez of the Ninth Judicial Circuit Court of Florida, as this year’s Women of Distinction honorees with awards designed by FSU Master Craftsman Studio. Cheney led a panel discussion with the honorees, providing audience members the benefit of their experiences in breaking the glass ceiling within their respective fields. These intelligent and courageous women shared their wisdom and a few laughs, recounting jobs lost, opening their own business, how starting a family changed their lives and how giving back to the next generation makes all the difference. The inspiring evening concluded with remarks from the Seminole Club of Greater Orlando President Donald Post and Women for Florida State University Incoming Chair Tena Pate.

Visit the Inspire Awards online to learn more about the awards and this year’s honorees.